You Had Me at Hola by Alexis Daria (ARC Review)

52585101

RITA® Award Winning author Alexis Daria brings readers an unforgettable, hilarious rom-com set in the drama-filled world of telenovelas—perfect for fans of Jane the Virgin and The Kiss Quotient.

Leading Ladies do not end up on tabloid covers. 

After a messy public breakup, soap opera darling Jasmine Lin Rodriguez finds her face splashed across the tabloids. When she returns to her hometown of New York City to film the starring role in a bilingual romantic comedy for the number one streaming service in the country, Jasmine figures her new “Leading Lady Plan” should be easy enough to follow—until a casting shake-up pairs her with telenovela hunk Ashton Suárez. 

Leading Ladies don’t need a man to be happy. 

After his last telenovela character was killed off, Ashton is worried his career is dead as well. Joining this new cast as a last-minute addition will give him the chance to show off his acting chops to American audiences and ping the radar of Hollywood casting agents. To make it work, he’ll need to generate smoking-hot on-screen chemistry with Jasmine. Easier said than done, especially when a disastrous first impression smothers the embers of whatever sexual heat they might have had. 

Leading Ladies do not rebound with their new costars. 

With their careers on the line, Jasmine and Ashton agree to rehearse in private. But rehearsal leads to kissing, and kissing leads to a behind-the-scenes romance worthy of a soap opera. While their on-screen performance improves, the media spotlight on Jasmine soon threatens to destroy her new image and expose Ashton’s most closely guarded secret. (taken from goodreads.com) 

*Before I jump into the review, I want to thank Avon Books and Goodreads for sending me an Advanced Readers Copy. I won it in a giveaway and I am so thankful for this. This does not impact my review and all thoughts are my own.*

Jasmine Lin is determined to show that she doesn’t need a man to make her happy, but she’s a hopeless romantic who can not help herself. And her new co-star, Ashton, has more walls up than a house has but when he meets Jasmine he has the strong desire to let all of his secrets come flying out of his mouth.

I loved this book so much. The writing was easy to read and the characters had me hooked from the first page. The story is set in New York, mainly in the Bronx, Queens and Manhattan, which are places that I love.

When the story begins, we are introduced to Jasmine’s tight knit family and her best friends, her cousins. As someone who is extremely close with their cousins, I loved getting to read a story about a big family. The family is warm, judgmental, loving and fierce the way all families are and I felt I could really relate to them. Ashton is also family oriented, and I love getting to meet his family too.

I loved getting to read about a profession I don’t know much about, which was acting! The way it was written I felt like I was actually on the set with Ashton and Jasmine.

The energy and connection between our main characters was out of this world and I truly loved this book so much. It reminded me of Jane The Virgin in the best ways possible and it is very much one of my favorite reads so far.

You Had Me at Hola comes out on August 4th, you’re not going to want to miss this!!

2 thoughts on “You Had Me at Hola by Alexis Daria (ARC Review)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s