Loveboat, Taipei (Loveboat, Taipei #1) by Abigail Hing Wen (Blog Tour Review and Giveaway!!)

book cover

For fans of Crazy Rich Asians or Jane Austen Comedy of Manners, with a hint of La La Land

When eighteen-year-old Ever Wong’s parents send her from Ohio to Taiwan to study Mandarin for the summer, she finds herself thrust among the very over-achieving kids her parents have always wanted her to be, including Rick Woo, the Yale-bound prodigy profiled in the Chinese newspapers since they were nine—and her parents’ yardstick for her never-measuring-up life.

Unbeknownst to her parents, however, the program is actually an infamous teen meet-market nicknamed Loveboat, where the kids are more into clubbing than calligraphy and drinking snake-blood sake than touring sacred shrines.

Free for the first time, Ever sets out to break all her parents’ uber-strict rules—but how far can she go before she breaks her own heart?

*Before I jump in I want to thank the publisher for providing me with an eARC of this novel!*

I loved this so much! It was filled with fun, romance, culture and so much more!

As someone who also comes from a culture where you are expected to work certain careers and are constantly reminded of what your family sacrificed for you, I connected to Ever. I remember when I was applying to college and I wanted nothing more than to do art when my parents really wanted me to do a traditional field.

This was so great. The character growth, the culture, the setting. Every moment of this was amazing and I can not wait for more people to read it so I have more people to rave about this with!!

GoodreadsBook Depository Barnes and NobleKoboApple BooksGoogle Books

 

About The Author :

author

Abigail was born in West Virginia to a family of immigrants: Her mother is from the Philippines and her father from Indonesia, and her grandparents emigrated to those countries from Fujian and Shandong provinces in China.

Abigail grew up in Ohio and graduated from Harvard University and Columbia Law School. She worked in Washington DC for the Senate, as a law clerk for a federal judge. and now in Silicon Valley in venture capital and artificial intelligence. She also earned her Master of Fine Arts in Writing from Vermont College of Fine Arts.

In her spare time, she enjoys long walks with her husband and two boys, and hanging out with friends and over 100 family members in the Bay Area. She loves music and dances to it when no one is watching.

GoodreadsAuthor WebsiteTwitterInstagram

Tour Schedule

GIVEAWAY

Prize: Win (1) of (2) copies of LOVEBOAT, TAIPEI by Abigail Hing Wen (US Only)

Stars: 1st January 2020

Ends: 15th January 2020

Rafflecopter

 

 

2 thoughts on “Loveboat, Taipei (Loveboat, Taipei #1) by Abigail Hing Wen (Blog Tour Review and Giveaway!!)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s