Books I Want to Read This Summer

I have decided to put together a list of books I want to read this summer. Some of them are books that I own and some of them are ones that I’m going to either buy or end up borrowing from the library . Not all of these books are summer themed, some of them are ones that I have really wanted to read and I just haven’t yet.  My summer begins May 16th, so I’m hoping to get a lot of reading in this year. I know that this list is EXTREMELY LONG and I probably won’t get all of this reading done but hey! A girl can dream! I will be taking Biology this summer but then I will have two months to do nothing, my best friends and I are planning the most epic summer ever. So if you have any fun best friend stuff ideas, let me know please!

  1. 9 Days and 9 Nights by Katie Cotugno

y450-293

I don’t think I need to say anything more about this book. But I can not wait to read it, I recently did a trade for it and I am SO EXCITED to get it.

2. Along for the Rude by Sarah Dessen

IMG_4470

I have only read Sarah Dessen’s most recent releases: Once and For All, Saint Anything and The Moon and More. I want to read the other books she has written too. I own a few others by her and I want to read them.

3. Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson

IMG_6360

I absolutely adore Morgan Matson’s books more than anything. I have read all of her other books that are out so far, and this one looks like such a fun summer read.

4. Billy and Me by Giovanna Fletcher

IMG_5613

When I was in England, I picked up a bunch of books and this was one that I had my eye on the whole time. I really want to read books by Giovanna Fletcher. They are supposed to be fun and easy reads.

5. The Boy Most Likely To by Huntley Fitzpatrick

18392495

Huntley Fitzpatrick wrote the ultimate summer novel, My Life Next Door and I loved it. I own her other two books and I haven’t read them yet. I know this is going to be the summer novel I need. I also can’t wait to see Sam and Jase again.

6. Five Summers by Una LaMarche

16101148

Again, nothing new. I love sleep away camp and this one just seems to be the thing I need for my first summer not working in summer camp. I do have a feeling that I will be bawling my eyes out when I read it because I miss camp, but I’m excited to read it.

7. Flirting in Italian (Flirting in Italian #1) by Lauren Henderson

12681111

I bought this in one of my very first book outlet orders and I have never read it. It looks really cute and I like books that take place in different countries.

8. From Twinkle, With Love by Sandhya Menon

36373464

I really liked When Dimple Met Rishi and it was a great summer read. This one seems like it’s going to be a fun read.

9. It Started With Goodbye by Christina June

27830287

I absolutely loved retellings and this is a summer themed cinderella retelling. I can not wait to read it.

10. The Last Summer of the Garret Girls by Jessica Spotswood

Last-Summer

The dynamic between these sisters looks so interesting and this book looks like its going to be SO SO SO SO SO SO good. I can NOT wait for it to come out!

11. Lobsters by Tom Ellen and Lucy Ivison

18663722

This is another one I picked up when I was in London and I am really excited to read this. It’s a super cute summer book about two best friends and their plan to find love this summer.

12. The Loose Ends List by Carrie Firestone

27161846

This is another one of the meaningful summer novels that I want to read.

13.  Love and Gelato by Jenna Evans Welch

25756328

I started this book a few years ago and I never was able to finish it. This is another summer book that takes place in another country. I’m excited to read this one.

14. The Names They Gave Us by Emery Lord

30038906

I have never read anything by Emery Lord before and this looks really good. What really attracted me to it is the fact that it takes place in summer camp.

15. A New Model: What Confidence, Beauty and Power Really Look Like by Ashley Graham

31932167

I really like Ashley Graham and I think the summer is the right time to read more inspiring books.

16. One True Loves by Taylor Jenkins Reid

I have not read anything by this author yet and I am SO excited to read this. I have heard nothing but rave reviews for this author. And this book looks like a fun and great summer read.

17. Piglettes by Clementine Beauvais

IMG_5621

Another book I picked up on my trip. This one is a great friendship story and I’m excited to read it.

18. Save The Date by Morgan Matson

32333338

Again, I love Morgan Matson. I can not wait to read this book. I love how her books are all about summer but each one is so different. One thing that I love the most is how her characters all end up showing up in the books.

19. So Inn Love by Catherine Clark

501787

I love these teen mass market paperback romance novels. Some people think they are trashy (which I HATE when people call romance novels trash) but I think these are the perfect beach reads.

20. Think Twice (Don’t Even Think About It #2) by Sarah Mlynowski

IMG_5609

I loved the first book, Don’t Even Think About It and I was trying SO hard to get my hands on the second one here in the states but I couldn’t. So when I was in London, I stopped into Waterstones and I found it!

21. This Is Really Happening by Erin Chack

31707101

This is another non-fiction book of essays. Erin Chack works for Buzzfeed and this book is a compilation of different essays about different things in life that she went through.

21. The Unlikelies by Carrie Firestone

IMG_6338

This one takes place in the Hamptons and I love stories that take place out there during the summer.

22.  The Way You Make Me Feel by Maurene Goo

35704397

I have not read anything by Maurene Goo yet but this one looks super cute and fun.

23. What I Thought Was True by Huntley Fitzpatrick

15832932

The queen of summer contemporary novels is back on my list.

24. This Is What Happy Looks Like by Jennifer E. Smith

15790873

Jennifer E. Smith is one of my favorite authors. And I love her books a lot.

25. Always Never Yours by Emily Wibberley and Austin Siegemund-Broka

IMG_5218

I won this in a giveaway a while ago and I havent gotten around to reading it yet. It looks like a super cute romance.

26. Listen to Your Heart by Kasie West

IMG_6248

Kasie West writes the perfect romance novels and this one looks so cute! I did a trade for this ARC a while ago and I have been keeping it for the summer.

27. Fat Girl on a Plane by Kelly DeVos

I won this in a Goodreads giveaway and at first for some reason, I wasnt sure if I was going to want to read it. But this looks super good and I love a good book that takes place in NYC.

28. The Anatomical Shape of a Heart by Jenn Bennett

IMG_4968

I love Jenn Bennett and this one looks super cute and different than Alex, Approximately. I can not wait to read it.

29. Starry Eyes by Jenn Bennett

35297469

I love that this takes place in the summer and it just looks so good. I can not wait for my copy to come in the mail!

30. Animal Attraction by Jamie Ponti

354514

I love the Romantic Comedy books from Simon and Schuester and this one of them. It looks fun and interesting, its a good beach day read.

31. The Big F by Maggie Ann Martin

IMG_5200

Another book I won in a giveaway awhile back and it looks really interesting. Its about a girl who has to take a class at her local community college right before she should be going off to college because she couldn’t get into her dream school. And its about her finding a way into college.

32. Love, Life, and the List by Kasie West

IMG_6069

Do I really need to say anything? Kasie West is the best.

33. What To Say Next by Julie Buxbaum

IMG_5636

I have not read anything by Julie Buxbaum before and I am excited to read this one.

6 thoughts on “Books I Want to Read This Summer

  1. taylortalksbooks says:

    OMG so many amazing contemporaries! You should definitely pick up Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour, and the two Jenn Bennett books (i’m complete trash for her writing so she’s always a go-to recommendation for me lol). I’m also hoping to read Love & Gelato and some more Huntley Fitzpatrick books this summer! Lovely post 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment